Fleabag (UK)

Fleabag (UK)

Series two of Fleabag just finished airing in the UK. So the caveat here is that I've only watched series one so far. But I love it.

I hesitate to call this a comedy. It is funny and vulgar and moving and at times deeply disturbing. And it is absolutely riveting television. How have I survived this long without knowing about the work of Fleabag's creator and star, Phoebe Waller-Bridge (Killing Eve, Crashing)

And since I'm already recommending a television show that I haven't finished watching, I'll also recommend an article about it that I haven't finished reading. The Guardian's culture writers have compiled a list of what to read, watch, and listen to after you have finished watching Fleabag. Liz Phair is counted among the cultural touchstones that vibrate on a resonant frequency with Phoebe Waller-Bridge, and for good reason. Phair's profane debut album, Exile in Guyville, struts with the same raw emotional honesty as Fleabag.

Fleabag covers difficult, intimate material without sugar coating or pulling punches. It's always funny and never cringey. But I will need a few more days to recover before I start series two.

Update: I've finished series two, and it stunning. I never binge-watch shows, but I binged-watched this one because the episodes flowed together so seamlessly. It's more like a play than a TV show. The complexity, intelligence, and emotional depth of the characters really comes through in the second series. These are interesting people doing interesting things. It's a year later, and Fleabag has matured.

There is a wonderful bit of criticism of series two over at FilmSchoolRejects.com, but please watch series two first, as article this necessarily discusses many of the plot twists.